The Procedure to Disable the Location Services in Snapchat

Snapchat has been around for over a decade now – it was launched in 2011. It is a photo and video-sharing social media application. It allows users to share images and videos temporarily set to “disappear” seconds after the receiver views them.

The app has an interface that allows users to create text messages, capture and edit photos or geofilters, and change the filter on their snaps. Users can also add followers, send snaps within groups, and view their story feed from the main application. Learning how to turn off location in Snapchat helps everyone to converse in private without disclosing their location.

Who is using Snapchat?

Snapchat was created for millennials and young adults around 18-35. They share stories of things going on in their lives, such as vacations, parties, and nights out with friends, pets, or significant others.

It was released just before Facebook’s Instagram, so it became popular among youths who wanted a platform where they could only send images, texts, and small videos. One of its most popular stories, “The Snapmap,” is an interactive map that shows where users are at any given time in the form of a live map. Therefore, idea about how to turn off location in Snapchat is crucial.

Everything About Snap Map

Snap Map, developed by Snapchat, is a graphical representation of people snapping from different locations at any given time. You will have all the details related to the same, and you can look at people from your account who are using it at a particular moment.

You can access the Snap Map from your account by opening the application on your phone and the default camera screen. You will see a notification from the app asking you to allow Snap Map to collect location data. You can only see the location of others on the map when you enable others to see you.

When you have access, you will see your friends in Bitmojis, showing their exact location at the time of snapping. The accuracy of the map is within a few meters. You will also note a heat map on the same, which states that there is a lot of activity in that zone. You will also have a peep into the popular events occurring at different locations. Clicking on any one of the events will open the Story told by other users.

When you click on the map elsewhere, you will notice the recorded version of the snaps at a particular location. For instance, when accessing a public channel, you will look at the recorded content in the “Our Story” tab, which can be an image or a video.

Who Can See You on the Snap Map?

If you set the Snap Map for the first time, the app will prompt you to select the privacy settings. These settings will tell the app how it should behave, and you can change them anytime. You can choose between:

  • Ghost Mode: In this mode, the app hides your location and removes all the last snapping content from the database entirely.
  • My Friends: In this mode, you can allow all your friends or a select few to access your location. If you have selected only a few, only they can locate you on the Snap Map.

Should I Worry About Snap Map Tracking?

Any application that has access to your location keeps track of your activity. All the applications that use location services do the same. But is Snapchat different?

No, Snapchat is the same as the rest of the applications. Users forget about the Snap Map when they select their privacy settings. So, if you are using the app, you send your location unintentionally.

How to Turn Off Location Services on Snapchat Map?

How to turn off location in Snapchat? The first thing to avoid is not to add a snap to “Our Story.” When you post a snap here, you are allowing the entire world to see it. Second, if you do not want your friends to know about your location, you can activate Ghost Mode.

Follow the steps below to activate the Ghost Mode:

  1. Open the application.
  2. Swipe to launch the camera window to open the Snap Map.
  3. At the top right, you will see a gear icon. Tap it.
  4. You can activate Ghost Mode.
  5. When the app asks for time, choose “Until turned off.”

how to turn off location on snapchat

How to Disable or Turn off Location Services in Snapchat on iPhone or iPad?

Learning how to turn off location in Snapchat on your iPhone or iPad will help you to use the same when you are in need.

Location Services: Location Services are turned on by default. You can disable them if you want to.

Follow these steps to disable or turn off location services on Snapchat:

  • Launch the Settings app and open Privacy > Location Services > Off for Snapchat.

How to Disable or Turn Off Location Services in Snapchat on Android?

You can follow these steps to learn how to turn off location in Snapchat from any Android device

  • Tap on “Settings.”
  • Scroll down to “Location Services” and toggle it to off for Snapchat.

Conclusion

Snapchat is a video and image-sharing social media platform that provides users with many features. Live location sharing has its benefits. However, suppose you wish to be anonymous or do not wish to share the location. In that case, you can disable the location services setting as discussed in this post. Learning how to turn off location in Snapchat helps you stay anonymous and private on the internet. There are many ways in which you can be tracked by your online activities. The best way of remaining anonymous and confidential is to turn off your device’s location services.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.